### L- 3 OUR COUNTRY – INDIA

## \* Words to know:-

- 1] capital
- 2] union territory
- 3] mountains
- 4] northern plains
- 5] coastal plains
- 6] desert
- 7] peninsula
- 8] island
- 9] steep
- 10] majestic
- 11] pleasant
- 12] climate

#### \* ANSWER THESE QUESTIONS:-

- Q.1. How many states and union territories are there in India?
- A.1. There are 28 states and 8 union territories in India.
- Q.2. What is the difference between a state and a union territory?
- A.2. A state has a Chief Minister and a Governor but a Union Territory is directly governed by the Central Government.
- Q.3. Name the mountain ranges found in South and Central India.
- A.3. Satpura Hills are in Central India and the Nilgiri Hills are in South India.
- Q.4 Why is India named Bharat?

Ans. Bharat was an emperor of India. He conquered all of Greater India, uniting it into a single political entity,

which was named after him as, 'Bharatvarsha'.

# Q.5. How do the northern mountains influence the climate of India? [HOTS]

Ans. In the north, India has the Great Himalayan Range. This range has some of the highest mountains in the

world. This range stops the winds of North from entering India and keeps the climate of India warm.

\* Analysis Based Question:-

#### Q. What happens when snow in the mountains melts?

Ans. When snow in the mountains melts glaciers are formed leading to more water in rivers. This may cause flood in low-lying areas.

-: The End:-